City Council


  • 6:00 pm
  • First and third Monday of each month
  • St. Joseph Government Center - Council Chambers
    75 Callaway St E
    St. Joseph MN 56374

Agendas | Meeting Material | Minutes|


Form of Government

The City of St. Joseph is considered a Plan A Statutory City which operates under the statutory city code contained in Chapter 412 of the Minnesota Statutes and a number of other statutes that cover special cases. 

The St. Joseph City Council members are elected at-large serving the entire community and are empowered by Minnesota Statute. The City Council is a policy board whose authority includes: pass and enforce ordinances, establish public and administrative policies, create advisory boards and commissions, and manage the city's financial operations including preparing a budget, auditing expenditures, and transacting other city business as required by law.

Distinct Features of a Plan A City

  • A five or seven-member council, consisting of a mayor and four or six councilmembers, runs the government.
  • The council appoints a clerk and treasurer for indefinite terms. The council may remove these employees at any time in accordance with state law and any personnel policy, contract, or ordinance in effect for that city.
  • The council may appoint independent boards and commissions, such as a utilities commission, and advisory bodies, such as a planning commission.
  • The council appoints all personnel, including the police chief, attorney, fire chief, and liquor-store manager.
  • The council has all the administrative and legislative authority and responsibility that councils in Standard Plan cities have.